Bulldogs Win EIAC CC Crowns

first_imgCongratulations to both the Batesville boys and the girls cross country teams as they were crowned Conference Champions Saturday morning.  It was already pretty hot and humid at 10 in the morning, but the dogs battled through it and won pretty substantially and also placed 11 individuals on the All-Conference team. On the boys’ side, senior Adam Moster led the team and was named the Conference MVP with his 1st place finish of 16:33.  He was followed by teammates Ean Loichinger, conference runner-up at 16:42 and senior Joshua Myers in 3rd at 16:54.  Benjamin Moster was the next Bulldog to cross the finish line in 6th place (17:38), and finishing out the top 15 to make the All-Conference team was Daren Smith in 14th (18:10).  Just missing the spot and running 6th for the team was Dillon Murray in 16th (18:19), and finishing out the top 7 for the boys was Charlie Laymon in 28th (19:03).  This performance gave the Dogs a low score of 26 points beating their opponents by 40 points!  Rushville came in 2nd at 66, just beating Greensburg by 2 at 68.  East Central took 4th with 80, Connersville, 5th-132, Franklin County 6th-156, Lawrenceburg 7th-201 and South Dearborn 8th-230. Congratulations Bulldogs on two team EIAC championships, 1 EIAC MVP, and 2 JV champions! Next up for the Bulldogs is their own Invitational this Tuesday.  This will also be Senior Night.  We will be honoring our 7 seniors before awards. Mason Enneking, Luke Esser, Charlie Laymon, Alex Livers, Adam Moster, Joshua Myers, and Liz Loichinger.  Come out and help us celebrate and see the dogs in action.  Meet starts at 5:30 with the boys’ varsity race.Courtesy of Bulldogs Coach Lisa Gausman.The Franklin County Girls Varsity Cross Country team placed 5th at the EIAC conference as they pushed their limits in very hot temperatures. Junior, Lauren Kelley, placed 7th with a time of 20:47. She continues to lead the girls team with top 10 finishes in each of her races. Senior, Katelyn Meyer, had a fabulous race, achieving her career best time of 22:07. She just missed a top 15 spot with her 16th place finish. Junior, Josie Selm, who usually struggles with the hot temperatures, gave here best performance of the season. Her time of 24:44 put her in 30th place. Sophomore, Katherine Apsley had a time of 25:32, and sophomore, Emma Cabezuelo finished close behind with a time of 25:53, which is amazing, considering she is new to the sport of Cross Country. The girls are looking forward to competing in Batesville on Tuesday, October 1st.The Franklin County Boys Cross Country team placed 6th in very tough conference competition. Junior, Drew Grant, was the top finisher for Franklin County, enduring the very hot temperatures to finish in 17th place with a time of 18:26. This time is only 12 seconds from his career personal best. Sophomore, Ben Maze, finished in 29th place, with a time of 19:07. Freshman, Hunter Marshall, and Senior, Harvey Marshall, almost ran an identical race with only 1 second separating them. Their times were 19:30 and 19:31 respectively. Right behind them was freshman, Harmon Marshall, with a time of 19:49. The three Marshall brothers continue to challenge each other and push each other to improve and strategize in each race. Sophomore, Adam Grant, continues to improve through the whole season, dropping his time down to 19:54. He is closing in on his career-best of 19:48. The boys’ team is looking towards their upcoming meets as they continue to push each other to faster finishing times.Courtesy of Wildcats Coach Stacey Nobbe. The girls had 6 run in the top 15 and get the All-Conference honors.  Batesville was led by sophomore, Lily Pinckley who placed a strong 2nd at 19:50 behind Greensburg’s Brenner Hannah with a time of 19:33 and earning the MVP honors.  Lily was followed by teammate Ava Hanson who placed 3rd at 20:12. Maria Lopez was next for the dogs in 8th (21:08), closely followed by Sophie Myers 9th (21:12).  Trysta Vierling took 12th place (21:39) with Madison Rahschulte in 14th (21:49).  Katie Olsen just missed the All-Conference team as she placed 16th (22:03).  The Batesville Girls scored a low 31 points followed by Greensburg with 58.  East Central was 3rd-102, just beating Rushville 4th-105. Franklin County took 5th-119, South Dearborn 6th-132, Lawrenceburg 7th-147 and Connersville was incomplete.  Although the JV meet was not scored, Batesville led the race for both the girls and the boys.  Senior Luke Esser won the boys JV race in 19:08 and sophomore Carley Pride won the girls race in 22:40 with teammate Sarah Ripperger getting runner up.  last_img