Umphrey’s McGee Is Releasing A Full Studio Album Of Mashup Tracks

first_imgUmphreaks, get ready to phreak out.On Friday, November 11th, Umphrey’s McGee will release ZONKEY, an eleven track album of entirely mashups, with the band combining the catalogs of various artists to create unique mix-up compositions.While these mashups have been featured in the live setting on special occasions, never before has the band taken the concept into the studio. “ZONKEY clearly pays homage to some of our favorite artists and songs,” said keyboardist Joel Cummins in a statement. “While we’ve tried to reproduce the spirit of the original compositions and recordings, we’ve also tried to have some fun with the structure as we’ve often combined seemingly dissimilar musical elements to create a new vibe altogether.”With this in mind, it makes a lot of sense that the band brought out “Electric Avenue to Hell” at North Coast Music Festival in Chicago last weekend. The song – a mashup of “Highway To Hell” (AC/DC) + “Electric Avenue” (Eddy Grant) + “The Triple Wide” (Umphrey’s McGee) – is one of the eleven tracks on the new release.For pre-orders and more information, you can head here. Be sure to check out the full track listing, posted below.ZONKEY Track Listing“National Loser Anthem”“National Anthem” (Radiohead) + “Loser” (Beck) + “In The Air Tonight” (Phil Collins)“Life During Exodus”“Life During Wartime” (Talking Heads) + “Exodus” (Bob Marley) + “City of Tiny Lites” (Frank Zappa) + “25 or 6 to 4” (Chicago)“Can’t Rock My Dream Face”“Rock With You” (Michael Jackson) + “Can’t Feel My Face” (The Weeknd) + “Dreams” (Fleetwood Mac)“Sad Clint Eastwood”“Sad But True” (Metallica) + “Clint Eastwood” (Gorillaz)“Electric Avenue To Hell”“Highway To Hell” (AC/DC) + “Electric Avenue” (Eddy Grant) + “The Triple Wide” (Umphrey’s McGee)“Ace Of Long Nights”“Ace of Spades” (Motörhead) + “It’s Gonna Be a Long Night” (Ween)“Sweet Sunglasses”“Sweet Dreams” (Eurythmics) + “Sunglasses at Night” (Corey Hart) + “Electric Feel” (MGMT)“Strangletage”“Stranglehold” (Ted Nugent) + “Sabotage” (Beastie Boys)“Come As Your Kids”“Kids” (MGMT) + “Come As You Are” (Nirvana) + “You Spin Me Round (Like a Record)” (Dead or Alive)“Frankie Zombie”“Thunder Kiss ’65” (White Zombie) + “Relax” (Frankie Goes to Hollywood) + “Have a Cigar” (Pink Floyd)“Bulls On The Bus”“Bulls On Parade” (Rage Against the Machine) + “Mark On the Bus” (Beastie Boys)“Bittersweet Haj”“Hajimemashite” (Umphrey’s McGee) + “Bitter Sweet Symphony” (The Verve)last_img