Castleconnell success in Pride of Place awards

first_imgWATCH: 2002 Cospoir Services to Sports Awards NewsCommunityCastleconnell success in Pride of Place awardsBy Editor – December 7, 2017 1819 At the Pride of Place awards ceremony were (Back Row from left): Seamus Hayes, Limerick Council; Con Carroll, St. Patrick’s Villas ResidentsAssociation; Tom Dowling, Pride of Place Chairman; Frank Ryan, Residents Association and Seamus O’Connor, Limerick Council. (Front Row): Margaret Carroll, Deputy Mayor Marian Hurley and Anne Ryan, Residents Association.St Patrick’s Villas in Castleconnell took the runner-up award for housing estates at this year’s IPB Pride of Place Awards last weekend.The nationwide competition was initiated 15 years ago through a Co-operation Ireland programme to acknowledge the invaluable work undertaken by volunteers and those involved in local community development. It has grown into the largest competition recognising community development achievements on the island of Ireland.Competition Chairman Tom Dowling said that Pride of Place was about “showing respect and inclusion for every sector in our communities, young, old, rich or poor and creating communities to which the people are proud to say they belong”.Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter Sign Up Co-operation Ireland chief executive Peter Sheridan described the awards ceremony as an ideal opportunity for organisations to come together and learn from each other.“This will be important as we prepare for the inevitable changes Brexit will bring to the island of Ireland. This evening, we have witnessed some of the finest examples of people working together to create a positive future and we all must continue to build on this so Irish society as a whole can benefit. I congratulate everyone who was nominated but I extend special congratulations to those groups who were triumphant this evening”.See more news here Family home in Castleconnell #LimerickPostProperty WhatsApp ‘Virtual solution’ could see Ireland’s Young Filmmakers recognised Ireland’s Young Filmmaker of the Year 2020 announces its winners Previous articleLimerick concert for Russell Watson is cancelledNext articleLimerick prioritised for €55m flood defence project Editor Advertisement Twittercenter_img Email RELATED ARTICLESMORE FROM AUTHOR TAGSAwardscastleconnellCo-operation Irelandhousing estatePeter SheridanPride of PlaceSt Patrick’s VillasTom Dowling Linkedin Student Achievements Awarded at Mary Immaculate College Facebook Print Limerick Post Show | Local Enterprise Office Enterprise Awards 2020 last_img