Marasco named Tewaaraton Award finalist

first_img Related Stories Get back: JoJo Marasco conquers pressure; looks to get Syracuse back to where it once belonged Published on May 9, 2013 at 12:57 pm Contact David: [email protected] | @DBWilson2 Facebook Twitter Google+center_img Syracuse midfielder JoJo Marasco was named one of five finalists for the Tewaaraton Award, the most prominent player of the year award for college lacrosse.Marasco is joined by North Carolina attack Marcus Holman, Cornell attack Rob Pannell, Princeton midfielder Tom Schreiber and Albany attack Lyle Thompson. The winner will be announced at an award ceremony on May 30 at the National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.Marasco, a senior from Yorktown Heights, N.Y., was named Big East Midfielder of the Year and a first-team all-conference selection. He led the Orange with 53 points and his 35 assists broke Paul Gait’s single-season team record for helpers by a midfielder.Marasco was named also to the Big East’s all-tournament team after guiding Syracuse to its second consecutive title, beating Villanova 13-9 in the title game. The Orange claimed the No. 1 seed in the NCAA tournament after closing its season with four straight wins, including two against national power Notre Dame.SU faced three other Tewaaraton finalists during the regular season — Pannell, Schreiber and Thompson. Syracuse defeated Pannell’s Big Red and Schreiber’s Tigers, but fell to Thompson’s Great Danes in double overtime in the first game of the season.AdvertisementThis is placeholder textAttack Mike Leveille was the last SU player to win the Tewaaraton Award in 2008. Mike Powell also took home the honor in 2002 and 2004 as Orange players have earned the award in three of its 12 years of existence. Commentslast_img read more